NNSWF Westfield FFA CUP ‘Final Four’ Determined

June 10th, 2017

NNSWF Westfield FFA CUP ‘Final Four’ Determined

 The Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility played host to the ‘Final Eight’ fixtures of the NNSW Westfield FFA Cup Preliminary Round, with Broadmeadow Magic FC (NNSW PS4 NPL), Edgeworth Eagles FC (NNSW PS4 NPL), Coffs City United FC (NCF Premier League and Maitland FC (NNSW PS4 NPL) all securing their place in the ‘Final Four’. The ‘Final Four’ will play off for the chance to secure one of two places to represent the Northern NSW region in Westfield FFA Cup Round of 32.

Match one of the day saw Broadmeadow Magic FC shrug off their poor form in the league by dismantling fellow NNSW PS4 NPL side Valentine Eleebana FC, scoring four unanswered goals. A 12th-minute goal by former Newcastle Jets player, James Virgili gave Broadmeadow Magic FC an early lead, with three late goals scored by Peter Haynes (82’), Sam Webb (85’) and a stoppage time goal to Shane Paul securing their passage to the next round.

The second fixture of the day saw Northern NSW’s 2016 Round of 32 representatives, the Edgeworth Eagles, dismantle fellow NNSW PS4 NPL side Lambton Jaffas thanks to a second-half goal blitz. A 5-minute spell just after half time saw Edgeworth pile on three quick goals courtesy of Dylan Holz (52’), Ayden Brice (55’) and Adam Cawley (57’). The result was put beyond doubt when former Hyundai A-League Star, Daniel MCBreen, calmly slotted home in the 80th minute, before Sanders rubbed salt into the wounds with a delicately chipped goal in stoppage time, securing a convincing 5-0 win.

In the third and most anticipated match of the day, North Coast Football Premier League side, Coffs City United reigned supreme after penalties were required to separate them and Zone Premier League outfit, Cardiff City Tigers FC. Coffs secured the early lead, with Coffs’ Brent Turner calmly scoring from the spot after a scramble in the box saw a penalty awarded. The Tigers fought back, squaring the ledger in the 33rd minute thanks to Ethan Raey, which is how it would remain until the full-time whistle. Extra time saw multiple chances created by both teams, but ultimately it would be a huge save by Coffs keeper, Josh Wiseman and a missed spot kick by Cardiff’s, Guy Wahlstedt which would see Coffs City United progress 4-2 on penalties.

The final match of the round saw another tightly contested affair, with a goal in extra time the difference, securing Maitland FC’s passage through to the ‘Final Four’ at the expense of Byron Bay FC. In a match which was an arm wrestle, a 20th minute goal to Maitland’s Liam Thornton was quickly ruled out by at 24th minute strike to Byron Bay’s Aaron Walker. The second half followed a similar pattern before Sam Shepherd gave Byron Bay the short-lived lead in the 60th minute which was quickly cancelled out by Maitland’s Jye Mackellar in the 63rd minute. With the scores locked at 2-2, extra time was required to separate the teams, with an own goal by Byron Bay after a goal mouth scramble providing a heart breaking blow to the Far North Coast team and securing a 3-2 win to Maitland FC.

Round 7 of the NNSW Westfield FFA Cup Preliminary Round was drawn live at the LMRFF Saturday, June 10 at the conclusion of all matches by NNSWF CEO, David Eland and representatives of all remaining clubs

Round 7 will see Broadmeadow Magic FC take on Coffs City United FC at the Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility at 10:00 am Monday 12th June 2017. Edgeworth Eagles FC take on Maitland FC, with match details T.B.A.

The two winners will automatically qualify to represent Northern NSW Football in the Westfield FFA Cup Round of 32.

The Westfield FFA Cup provides PS4 NPL Northern NSW clubs and Northern NSW Club teams the opportunity to progress to the Round of 32 and the chance to play off against Preliminary Round club-based winners from fellow states, as well as Hyundai A-League Clubs.

‘FINAL FOUR’ Fixtures
Broadmeadow Magic v Coffs City Utd FC
Edgeworth Eagles FC v Maitland FC



Related Topics:

NewsMore >

  More News  

MiniRoos for Girls Leagues taking north coast by storm
The first inter-club under-6s and 7s MiniRoos for Girls Leagues in the Coffs… [more]
Michael Gaertner awarded NNSWF life membership
For all of Michael Gaertner’s achievements, memories and stories from a… [more]
NNSWF welcomes commitments following 2022 Federal election
Northern NSW Football has welcomed eight commitments made to its clubs across… [more]

  Around the Clubs  

Newcastle Olympic awarded potential $625,000 grant for Darling Street upgrades
Sharon Claydon MP has committed $625,000 for a new grandstand and facility… [more]
Shoosh for Kids returns for 2022
Shoosh for Kids is back in 2022 and the message is clear – if you… [more]
Inaugural NNSWF Community State Youth Championships launched
It will be Member Zone v Member Zone when the best community footballers take… [more]


Community Football

Newcastle Permanent Community Shield