Brockie awarded Jennings Medal as National Premier Leagues Northern NSW Player of the Year for 2021

October 22nd, 2021

Edgeworth FC striker Jeremy Brockie has been named the recipient of the Graham Jennings Medal as the National Premier Leagues Northern NSW Player of the Year for 2021.

Brockie starred for Edgeworth as the club reached third place in the NPL NNSW competition before the season was suspended in August due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Brockie was outstanding for the Eagles scoring 15 goals in as many games to help Edgeworth finish strongly, with Michael Bridges’ side going unbeaten in their last seven matches, winning six.

It was a stellar campaign for Brockie who also finished the season with the most goals in the competition to earn the NPL NNSW Golden Boot.

The 34-year-old former New Zealand international had a slow start to the campaign before notching doubles against Valentine, Weston and Lake Macquarie City. Brockie then scored four against Valentine in the final game of the season.

Maitland striker James Thompson was recognised by his peers with the NPL NNSW Players’ Player Award.

Brockie’s former Newcastle Jets teammate Ben Kennedy was named the Bill Mahoney Goalkeeper of the Year, as premiers Lambton conceded just 15 goals in 16 games.

Charlestown Azzurri’s Riley Smith was acknowledged with the competition’s Young Player of the Year Award as well as the Media Award.

Lambton coach Shane Pryce and Maitland coach Michael Bolch were recognised for their efforts being named joint Coach of the Year.

Pryce took over at the Jaffas following James Pascoe’s surprise departure in May to lead the club to its first premiership since being promoted in 2014. While Bolch took a youthful, new-look Maitland side to second place, one point behind Lambton when the season was suspended.

Adamstown Rosebud were chosen as the Club of the Year, with the club also winning the Fair Play Award.

Edgeworth FC took out the Club Championship.

Northern NSW Football Head of Football Development Peter Haynes congratulated the winners on a fine season.

“It was a big year in the National Premier Leagues Northern NSW competition with Lambton winning the premiership and Edgeworth’s Jeremy Brockie rewarded for his outstanding season,” Haynes said.

“Congratulations to all the award winners on a fantastic NPL NNSW season. Obviously it was a disappointing way to end the season but we look forward to seeing everyone again, bigger and better, in 2022.”

National Premier Leagues Northern NSW Awards 2021:

Graham Jennings Medal Player of the Year – Jeremy Brockie (Edgeworth FC)

Players’ Player Award – James Thompson (Maitland FC)

Coach of the Year – Shane Pryce (Lambton Jaffas) and Michael Bolch (Maitland FC)

Golden Boot – Jeremy Brockie (Edgeworth FC) 15 goals

Bill Mahoney Goalkeeper of the Year – Ben Kennedy (Lambton Jaffas)

Young Player of the Year – Riley Smith (Charlestown Azzurri)

Media Award – Riley Smith (Charlestown Azzurri)

Fair Play Award – Adamstown Rosebud

First Grade Premiers – Lambton Jaffas

First Grade Champions – None. No finals were played due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Player of the Grand Final – None. No finals were played due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Club of the Year – Adamstown Rosebud

Club Championship – Edgeworth FC

Related Topics:
2021 Awards National Premier Leagues Northern NSW

NewsMore >

  More News  

MiniRoos for Girls Leagues taking north coast by storm
The first inter-club under-6s and 7s MiniRoos for Girls Leagues in the Coffs… [more]
Michael Gaertner awarded NNSWF life membership
For all of Michael Gaertner’s achievements, memories and stories from a… [more]
NNSWF welcomes commitments following 2022 Federal election
Northern NSW Football has welcomed eight commitments made to its clubs across… [more]

  Around the Clubs  

Newcastle Olympic awarded potential $625,000 grant for Darling Street upgrades
Sharon Claydon MP has committed $625,000 for a new grandstand and facility… [more]
Shoosh for Kids returns for 2022
Shoosh for Kids is back in 2022 and the message is clear – if you… [more]
Inaugural NNSWF Community State Youth Championships launched
It will be Member Zone v Member Zone when the best community footballers take… [more]


Community Football

Newcastle Permanent Community Shield