Edgeworth Eagles set to kick-off their fourth FFA Cup Round of 32 campaign

July 23rd, 2019



Defending National Premier Leagues Northern NSW (NPL NNSW) premiers and current league-leaders Edgeworth Eagles will begin their FFA Cup Round of 32 campaign tomorrow night, Wednesday 24 July, when they travel to face Darwin Olympic at the Darwin Football Stadium, 7:30pm AEST.

The match will mark Edgeworth’s fourth appearance on the national stage, and they’ll be confident of moving onto the Round of 16 for the second time having done so already back in 2016 where they met Western Sydney Wanderers, and given their recent form that has seen them win the past five consecutive games.

Although the side will be missing captain Josh Evans and fellow defender Mitch Dobson, they will be featuring their two former Hyundai A-League Champions in Josh Rose and Daniel McBreen, as well as the current Golden Boot leader in the NPL NNSW, Oliver Smith who’s managed 12 goals in the league and scored two doubles in Round 6 and 7 of the cup to defeat Broadmeadow Magic and Valentine Phoenix.

Their opponents entered the FFA Cup Round of 32 after defeating University Azzurri on penalties to win the Sports Minister’s Cup for the second time after they also progressed back in 2015 where they met Adelaide United in their opening game.

Darwin Olympic have been premiers of their NorZone Premier League competition on three occasions and currently sit in second place but have picked up defeats in their past two outings in the league.

Veteran forward Michael Tsounias and leading goalscorer Mitchell Amidy who have scored six and nine goals respectively, will be names to watch out for as is a man who will be familiar to Edgeworth and fans of Northern NSW Football Premier Competitions, Tega Adjeke (Marcus) who most recently played for the Weston Bears and actually trained with the Eagles side for a long time in 2017-18.

The game will kick-off 7:30pm AEST (7:00pm Local Time) and will be broadcast LIVE on Fox Sports.

Related Topics:

NewsMore >

  More News  

Rankin, Wheeler earn maiden Matildas selections
Jamilla Rankin and Clare Wheeler have earned their first national team… [more]
Northern NSW Football announces conclusion of 2021 Premier Competitions
Northern NSW Football has announced the end of its 2021 Premier Competitions…. [more]
2021 Champion of Champions tournament cancelled
Northern NSW Football is disappointed to announce that the 2021 Champion of… [more]

  Around the Clubs  

2021 Champion of Champions tournament cancelled
Northern NSW Football is disappointed to announce that the 2021 Champion of… [more]
Kootingal & District FC named Club of the Month as part of July Newcastle Permanent Community Recognition Awards
Northern NSW Football is pleased to announce Kootingal & District FC from… [more]
Expressions of interest open for 2021-22 Summer Football
Expressions of interest are now open for affiliated clubs looking to implement… [more]


Community Football

Newcastle Permanent Community Shield