Northern NSW Representative Girls Squads Announced

April 28th, 2015

Northern NSW Football (NNSWF) has today announced its 13 Years and 15 Years Girls squads to participate at the Westfield National Youth Championships for Girls in July and the 17 Years Girls squad ahead of the NTC Challenge, also in July.

The 13 Years squad coached by Lauren Colthorpe and assisted by Ryan Campbell, and the 15 Years squad coached by Ashley Wilson and assisted by Gary van Egmond were selected following a two day trial held at the Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility (LMRFF) last week.

Overseeing the trials and selection of the three teams, NNSWF Technical Director Michael Browne was pleased with the performance of players from both Country and Metro areas, and highlighted the importance of the National Youth Championships and NTC Challenge in a player’s career.

“The overall standard of play at the recent trials held at LMRFF was very pleasing. Selecting the squads was not an easy task and several girls who missed out narrowly could easily have made the squad and would have given a good account of themselves at the National Youth Championships in July,” Browne commented.

“The performance of many of the girls from the Country Zones was especially pleasing with eight players being selected for the 13 and 15 squads and highlights the good work being done by the staff in these areas.”

“The National Youth Championships and NTC tournaments are used as a vehicle by Football Federation Australia (FFA) to identify players for future National Team Squads and we would be confident that the players from Northern NSW would give a very good account of themselves in relation to this,” Browne concluded.

Emerging Jets Academy Director and Assistant Coach to the 15s squad Gary van Egmond said “It was great to see over 60 girls per age group trial for the 13 and 15 Girls Northern NSW Football teams. Players came from both Metro and the Regional NNSWF zones to attend the trials.”

“The trial process was over two days with Technical Directors from NNSWF Member Zones nominating players and the Emerging Jets players who play together in the NSW NPL combined at the new LMRFF.”

“After a thorough two days of training, small sided games and full sized games we were able to select what we believe will be strong teams to represent. The final makeup of the teams saw a number of players selected outside of the Emerging Jets and its goes to show what a great job NNSWF Member Zones are doing in regards to junior female football programs. The level of the girls was very good and I am anticipating both teams to do well at Nationals.”

“We also have two female coaches which we are encouraging to get involved in high performance that will coach each team. Lauren Colthorpe will coach the 13 Girls and Ashley Wilson will coach the 15 Years team,” van Egmond concluded.

Ryan Campbell, Head Coach of Skill Acquisition and Assistant Coach of the 13 Years Girls squad echoed van Egmond’s sentiments regarding player quality.

“Overall, the level of the players at the trials was excellent and made the final decision of the squad difficult. We are seeing more and more players with good individual ability coming to these trials which is great and both Lauren and myself are looking forward to preparing the selected team for the National Youth Championships in July,” Campbell said.

The 13 Years and 15 Years teams will continue to train three to four times each week before culminating in a pretournament camp the week prior to the Westfield National Youth Championships for Girls.

The 17 Years squad will prepare with up to five sessions in the lead up to the NTC Challenge in addition to playing within the Football NSW NPL Women Division 1 where all Emerging Jets representatives currently play.

13 Years Girls
No. Name Zone Suburb
1 Susanna Smith Merewether WPL Newcastle
2 Zoe Burnley Emerging Jets Swansea
3 Denver Williams Emerging Jets Lakelands
4 Jannali Hunter Emerging Jets Aberglassyn
5 Rachel Duffin Emerging Jets Pelican
6 Bella- Jade Carlisle Emerging Jets Dudley
7 Bronte Peel Emerging Jets Branxton
8 Jasmyn Hughes Emerging Jets Bishops Bridge
9 Isabelle Main Emerging Jets Wallsend
10 Josie Morley Emerging Jets Gillieston Heights
11 Lucy Young Emerging Jets Raworth
12 Rubi Grass FMNC Taree
13 Hannah Jones FMNC Taree
14 Jessica Davis FMNC Port Macquarie
15 Jamilla Rankin FFNC Rosebank
16 Brianna Redding Emerging Jets Aberglassyn


15 Years Girls
No. Name Zone Suburb
1 Annalee Grove Emerging Jets Mt Hutton
2 Tazmyne Luschwitz Emerging Jets Marmong Point
3 Claire Farrington FFNC Modanville
4 Hannah Bourke Emerging Jets Kurri Kurri
5 Skye Pullman Emerging Jets Aberglassyn
6 Molly Arens Emerging Jets Mt Hutton
7 Tyla Endemi Emerging Jets / NIF Calala
8 Georgia Minors Emerging Jets Coal Point
9 Breanna Steadman Emerging Jets Gateshead
10 Phoebe Cave NIF Tamworth
11 Tessa Tamplin Emerging Jets Redhead
12 Breanna Gatt FFNC Dunoon
13 Esther Ting FMNC Kempsey
14 Renee Pountney Emerging Jets Charlestown
15 Lucy Kell Emerging Jets East Maitland
16 Sophie Buller Emerging Jets Whitebridge


17 Girls NTC
Name Team Suburb
Gabbie Aarons-Burton Emerging Jets Lansdowne
Hannah Bourke Emerging Jets Kurri Kurri
Ashlee Brodigan Emerging Jets Budgewoi
Lisa Cochrane Emerging Jets Elermore Vale
Libby Copus Brown Emerging Jets Lambton
Claire Farrington FFNC Modanville
Kobie Ferguson Emerging Jets Whitebridge
Kalista Hunter Emerging Jets Aberglassyn
Kally Lewis Emerging Jets Lochinvar
Georgia Little Emerging Jets Raworth
Brooke Miller Emerging Jets Dudley
Sophie Nenadovic Emerging Jets Hillsborough
Sophie O’Brien Emerging Jets Cessnock
Skye Pullman Emerging Jets Aberglassyn
Hannah Southwell  Emerging Jets Cameron Park
Clare Wheeler Emerging Jets North Lambton


Related Topics:
Emerging Jets

NewsMore >

  More News  

Michael Gaertner awarded NNSWF life membership
For all of Michael Gaertner’s achievements, memories and stories from a… [more]
NNSWF welcomes commitments following 2022 Federal election
Northern NSW Football has welcomed eight commitments made to its clubs across… [more]
Northern NSW Football conduct Australia Cup sixth and seventh preliminary round draws
Northern NSW Football conducted its Australia Cup sixth and seventh preliminary… [more]

  Around the Clubs  

Newcastle Olympic awarded potential $625,000 grant for Darling Street upgrades
Sharon Claydon MP has committed $625,000 for a new grandstand and facility… [more]
Shoosh for Kids returns for 2022
Shoosh for Kids is back in 2022 and the message is clear – if you… [more]
Inaugural NNSWF Community State Youth Championships launched
It will be Member Zone v Member Zone when the best community footballers take… [more]


Community Football

Newcastle Permanent Community Shield