Emily van Egmond Named WWL Player of the Year

May 11th, 2015

Newcastle Jets Women Captain Emily van Egmond has tonight claimed the highest honour of the Westfield W-League, the Julie Dolan Medal.

The Jets’ success didn’t end there, as 2014.15 Coach Peter McGuinness was named Westfield W-League Coach of the Year.

Julie Dolan Medal
Emily van Egmond – Newcastle Jets

Young Player of the Year Award
Amy Harrison – Sydney FC

Players Player of the Year
Samantha Kerr – Perth Glory

Goalkeeper of the Year
Mackenzie Arnold – Perth Glory

Goal of the Year
Ashleigh Sykes – Canberra United (Round 12)

Coach of the Year
Peter McGuinness – Newcastle Jets

Golden Boot Award
Kathryn Gill – Perth Glory (12 goals)

Fair Play Award Adelaide United
Referee of the Year Kate Jacewicz

Full Media Release from FFA:

Nathan Burns from the Wellington Phoenix has claimed the Johnny Warren Medal, the Hyundai A-League’s Players’ Player Award at the gala Hyundai A-League & Westfield W-League 2014/15 Awards night which was held at the Carriageworks in Sydney tonight.

Emily van Egmond took out the Westfield W-League’s highest honour, the Julie Dolan Medal, with George Blackwood (Sydney FC) and Liam Youlley (Western Sydney Wanderers FC) tying for the title of Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year.

Burns, won the Johnny Warren Medal receiving 577 votes from his playing peers, ahead of Marcelo Carrusca (366 votes), Fahid Ben Khalfallah (307 votes), Kosta Barbarouses (277 votes) and Sergio Cirio (245 points).

James Jeggo was named the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award ahead of Brandon Borello (Brisbane Roar FC), Jamie Maclaren (Perth Glory), Terry Antonis (Sydney FC) and Tomi Juric (Western Sydney Wanderers. Jeggo will receive a $10,000 NAB personal investment portfolio, along with a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking and financial services.

Melbourne Victory’s Premiership winning Head Coach Kevin Muscat received the Hyundai A-League Coach of the Year Award and Peter McGuinness from the Newcastle Jets was named the Westfield W-League Coach of the Year.

Sydney FC’s Austrian Marquee player, Marc Janko, took home the Nike Golden Boot Award as the top goal scorer for the Hyundai A-League 2014/15 season with 16 goals and Perth Glory’s Kathryn Gill was the Westfield W-League 2014/15 Golden Boot winner courtesy of her 12 goals throughout the season.

Perth Glory’s Samantha Kerr picked up the Westfield W-League’s Players’ Player of the Year Award and Sydney FC’s Amy Harrison was named the Westfield W-League’s Young Player of the Year.

Eugene Galekovic collected the Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award for a record fourth time and Mackenzie Arnold from Perth Glory received the Westfield W-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award.

Adelaide United defender Tarek Elrich scored the Hyundai A-League the Goal of the Year Award for his Round 27 solo effort against Melbourne City FC. Ashleigh Sykes from Canberra United scored the Westfield W-League Goal of the Year for her strike against Perth Glory in Round 12.

Wellington Phoenix picked up the Hyundai A-League Fair Play Award for accruing the least number of yellow and red card points. Adelaide United won the Westfield W-League Fair Play Award with Brisbane Roar FC winning the Foxtel National Youth League Fair Play Award.

Jarred Gillet was named the Hyundai A-League Referee of the Year award for the second time in his career whilst Kate Jacewicz from Brisbane collected the Westfield W-League’s Referee of the Year for the fifth time.

Related Topics:

NewsMore >

  More News  

2022 National Volunteer Week Profile – Rosebud a labour of love for Conquest
On Saturday mornings, Kerry Conquest makes her way down to Adamstown Oval… [more]
NNSWF welcomes commitments ahead of 2022 Federal election
Northern NSW Football has welcomed 10 commitments made to its clubs across the… [more]
Barca in Sydney event to support fundraising drive for flood-affected NNSWF clubs
Fans attending the Barca in Sydney football match or watching live on Network… [more]

  Around the Clubs  

Newcastle Olympic awarded potential $625,000 grant for Darling Street upgrades
Sharon Claydon MP has committed $625,000 for a new grandstand and facility… [more]
Shoosh for Kids returns for 2022
Shoosh for Kids is back in 2022 and the message is clear – if you… [more]
Inaugural NNSWF Community State Youth Championships launched
It will be Member Zone v Member Zone when the best community footballers take… [more]


Community Football

Newcastle Permanent Community Shield