Nicol named player of the year as part of 2020 NEWFM Northern League One Awards

November 5th, 2020

Singleton Strikers captain Hayden Nicol has been named the NEWFM Northern League One Player of the Year for 2020.

Nicol starred for Singleton as the club were crowned champions, winning the grand final in its first appearance in a decider since 1992.

Nicol was outstanding in the middle of the park for the Strikers, scoring seven goals in 16 games from midfield.

He also impressed in the grand final as Singleton downed premiers New Lambton 2-0 at Magic Park on Saturday.

Nicol’s teammate Joel Barner was named Player of the Grand Final.

Nicol and Barner were not the only Singleton representatives recognised in the annual NEWFM Northern League One awards, with Strikers coach Brendan Slade named Coach of the Year and goalkeeper Corey Cleaver named Goalkeeper of the Year.

Slade led the Strikers to a second-placed finish in his first season as Singleton coach, with the Strikers losing just two games on their way to their historic grand final victory.

Cleaver meanwhile led the meanest defence in the division, conceding just 14 goals in 17 matches including three clean sheets in consecutive finals appearances.

Elsewhere, Cooks Hill United striker Nick Russell won the competition’s Golden Boot as NEWFM Northern League One’s top scorer, with Russell notching 13 goals across the 2020 campaign.

New Lambton’s Riley Taylor was named NEWFM Northern League One’s Players’ Player, while Nicol also received the competition’s Media Award.

West Wallsend starlet Jed Conway was named Young Player of the Year, while Cooks Hill United were chosen as the Club of the Year.

South Cardiff FC won the Fair Play Award.

Northern NSW Football Head of Football Development Peter Haynes congratulated the winners on a fine season.

“It was a big year in the NEWFM Northern League One competition with New Lambton winning the premiership and Singleton a historic championship, with Hayden Nicol also rewarded for his outstanding season,” Haynes said.

“Congratulations to all the award winners on a fantastic NEWFM Northern League One season. We look forward to seeing you all again, bigger and better, in 2021.”

NEWFM Northern League One Awards 2020:

Player of the Year – Hayden Nicol (Singleton Strikers)

Players’ Player Award – Riley Taylor (New Lambton FC)

Media Award – Hayden Nicol (Singleton Strikers)

Goalkeeper of the Year – Corey Cleaver (Singleton Strikers)

Young Player of the Year – Jed Conway (West Wallsend FC)

Coach of the Year – Brendan Slade (Singleton Strikers)

Fair Play Award – South Cardiff FC

Golden Boot – Nick Russell (Cooks Hill United – 13 goals)

Player of the Grand Final – Joel Barner (Singleton Strikers)

First Grade Premiers – New Lambton FC

First Grade Champions – Singleton Strikers

Club of the Year – Cooks Hill United

Related Topics:
2020 Awards NEWFM Northern League One

NewsMore >

  More News  

How you can take an active role as a volunteer in your club
Benny Roche is used to overcoming challenges. And this season he will look to… [more]
Why community football clubs are great
Family, connection and a sense of belonging is why Loren Neville loves… [more]
NNSWF launch Female Football Club Ambassadors project
Northern NSW Football has launched its Female Football Club Ambassadors project… [more]

  Around the Clubs  

Why community football clubs are great
Family, connection and a sense of belonging is why Loren Neville loves… [more]
PlayFootball workshops to help club volunteers as part of 2022 club training opportunities
Northern NSW Football will host two PlayFootball workshops to help club… [more]
NNSWF hosts inaugural Marketing Masterclass for community clubs
Northern NSW Football hosted its inaugural Marketing Masterclass for community… [more]


Community Football

Newcastle Permanent Community Shield