Riley Taylor named HIT106.9 Northern League One Player of the Year for 2021

October 20th, 2021

New Lambton FC’s Riley Taylor has been named the HIT106.9 Northern League One Player of the Year for 2021.

Taylor starred for New Lambton as the club were crowned premiers after the season was suspended in August due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Taylor was outstanding for the Eagles, scoring 16 goals in as many matches. He was also recognised by his peers with the Players’ Player of the Year award for the second season in a row.

It was a clean sweep for New Lambton, with Tom Davies named Coach of the Year and Alex Bozinovski chosen as Goalkeeper of the Year.

Davies led the Eagles to their second premiership in a row, with New Lambton losing just one game on their way to the league title.

Bozinovski meanwhile led the meanest defence in the division, conceding just 18 goals in 17 matches.

Elsewhere, Cooks Hill United striker James Byrnes won the competition’s Golden Boot as HIT106.9 Northern League One’s top scorer, with Byrnes notching 17 goals across the 2021 campaign.

Belmont Swansea United starlet Jack Tresidder was named Young Player of the Year, while Cooks Hill United were chosen as the Club of the Year for the second season in a row.

Cooks Hill United, who will play in the NPL NNSW competition next season, also won the Fair Play Award.

Northern NSW Football Head of Football Development Peter Haynes congratulated the winners on a fine season.

“It was a big year in the HIT106.9 Northern League One competition with New Lambton winning the premiership, with Riley Taylor also rewarded for his outstanding season,” Haynes said.

“Congratulations to all the award winners on a fantastic HIT106.9 Northern League One season. Obviously it was disappointing the way the season ended but we look forward to seeing everyone again, bigger and better, in 2022.”

HIT106.9 Northern League One Awards 2021:

Player of the Year – Riley Taylor (New Lambton FC)

Players’ Player Award – Riley Taylor (New Lambton FC)

Coach of the Year – Tom Davies (New Lambton FC)

Golden Boot – James Byrnes (Cooks Hill United – 17 goals)

Goalkeeper of the Year – Alex Bozinovski (New Lambton FC)

Young Player of the Year – Jack Tresidder (Belmont Swansea United)

Fair Play Award – Cooks Hill United

First Grade Premiers – New Lambton FC

First Grade Champions – None. No finals were played due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Player of the Grand Final – None. No finals were played due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Club of the Year – Cooks Hill United

Club Championship – New Lambton FC

Related Topics:
2021 Awards Hit106.9 Northern League One

NewsMore >

  More News  

MiniRoos for Girls Leagues taking north coast by storm
The first inter-club under-6s and 7s MiniRoos for Girls Leagues in the Coffs… [more]
Michael Gaertner awarded NNSWF life membership
For all of Michael Gaertner’s achievements, memories and stories from a… [more]
NNSWF welcomes commitments following 2022 Federal election
Northern NSW Football has welcomed eight commitments made to its clubs across… [more]

  Around the Clubs  

Newcastle Olympic awarded potential $625,000 grant for Darling Street upgrades
Sharon Claydon MP has committed $625,000 for a new grandstand and facility… [more]
Shoosh for Kids returns for 2022
Shoosh for Kids is back in 2022 and the message is clear – if you… [more]
Inaugural NNSWF Community State Youth Championships launched
It will be Member Zone v Member Zone when the best community footballers take… [more]


Community Football

Newcastle Permanent Community Shield