Around the Clubs

Young Referees Honoured at 2020 NNSWF Annual Youth Referee Evening

November 28th, 2020

Like for clubs and players, 2020 has been an interesting challenge for match officials, however like always, our trusted referees old and new pulled up their socks, dusted off their flags and ensured our Premier Leagues were played fair and square.

In lieu of a typical seated presentation evening (due to COVID restrictions) Northern NSW Football hosted a casual outdoor event at Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility followed by the annual ‘Challenge Round’ – where referees took to the field to give their boots a run.

Senior Officer – Match Official Administration and Development Brad Carlin said whilst the official evening couldn’t be held, we simply couldn’t miss celebrating the end of what was a difficult yet, very successful season of refereeing in Northern NSW Football’s Premier Competitions.

“The year threw some challenges to all facets of football, however with the involvement of these extraordinary young people, we have continued to build both the capacity and quality of officiating throughout all three Premier Competitions throughout 2020.

“Congratulations to all award recipients and to all others who stepped up into the role of match official throughout 2020, not only in our leagues, but community competition across the region.”

2020 Annual Youth Referee Winners:

NNSWF Rookie Referee of the Year: Caleb Low

NNSWF Most Improved Youth Referee 2020: Ayden Cutmore

NNSWF Junior Referee of the Year 2020 : Lucy Hungerford

NNSWF Assistant Referee of the Year 2020: Tom Sainsbury

NNSWF Youth Referee of the Year 2020: Charlie O’Bryan


Northern NSW Football First Year Referee Support Program Certificates:

Thomas Aslett, Brock Best, Hugh Browne, Danah Chapman, Flynn Cope, Zoe Daly, Arion Doumis, Callum Hewitt, Shay Horscroft-Williams, Nate Karger, Caleb Lowe, Jackson Milburn, Emma O’Hagan, Leo Palmer

Commitment to Refereeing Merit Awards 2020:

Callum Hewitt, Shay Horscroft-Williams, Sam Ostrowski, Lucas Stace, Aaliyah Symington

Related Topics:

NewsMore >

  More News  

Premier Clubs look for 2022 coaches
A number of Premier Competitions clubs have coaching positions available for… [more]
Newcastle Permanent Referee of the Year recipients announced across northern NSW
Northern NSW Football is pleased to announce the Newcastle Permanent Community… [more]
Newcastle Permanent Coach of the Year recipients announced across northern NSW
Northern NSW Football is pleased to announce the Newcastle Permanent Community… [more]

  Around the Clubs  

A guide to holding your club’s AGM during the pandemic
With many clubs preparing to bring their 2021 season to a close with their… [more]
2021 Champion of Champions tournament cancelled
Northern NSW Football is disappointed to announce that the 2021 Champion of… [more]
Kootingal & District FC named Club of the Month as part of July Newcastle Permanent Community Recognition Awards
Northern NSW Football is pleased to announce Kootingal & District FC from… [more]


Community Football

Newcastle Permanent Community Shield